Q&A: LinkedIn Interview Problem?

Q:  So recently I filled out an application for a finishline sales associate. We then had a “group interview” with the other candidates and I think I did well. I went home after the interview and was curious about the interviewer. He didn’t give any of his information other than his name, so I simply typed “(first name) (city) finishline” into Google. Linkedin was the top result and it found 6 or 7 results of potential people. I clicked on the one that said “sales manager” and it took my to him, which was indeed him. I didn’t realize but I was signed into my linkedin the whole time, so he got a notification saying that I viewed his profile, and when he clicked back on mine, I got a notification saying that he viewed mine. I don’t know if I should send a thank you letter to his LinkedIn to try to compensate for looking semi-creepy, or what I should do. Opinions?
 
A: There’s a way to look at this that you may not have considered. You have been doing your homework! What an excellent way to affirm your interest in the company and the position.
 
I definitely agree that you should send a thank you letter to him, whether via linked in, or otherwise, to thank him for the interview and reiterate your interest in the job. If there was something in the profile that stuck out with you, perhaps you could mention that in your note.
 
For example:
 
Dear Mr. John,
Thank you for taking the time to meet with me on XXX date to interview for the Sales Associate position. I am very interested in working at Finishline and hope that we get the opportunity to work together. I found your Linked In profile very inspiring. Your movement in the company in just XXX years is impressive. I hope to mirror the success you have had at Finishline in my own career there.
 
I look forward to hearing from you soon with the results of the interview.
 
Thank you again.
 
Sincerely,
XXXXX
 
Not at all creepy, by the way. Best wishes with your interview!
#noecareercenter
Leave a Reply

