Q&A: Interview Question for UPS Package Handler Job?

proud-10Q:  Interview question for UPS package handler job?  Where do you see yourself in 5 years? People tell me it’s a tricky question.
-Junior

A:  Although this may seem like a relatively simple question to ask, Junior, you’re right, it is a loaded question. The interviewer is asking you to begin with the ending in mind.

According to UPS job postings online, the company actively promotes from within. As a matter of fact, it has been said that “more than 70% of UPS management started as hourly employees.” Is management something that interests you? Are you ultimately interested in being a full-time route driver? Do you want to stay on the warehouse side and become a full-time dock worker? Do you want to go into a retail location and deal more with customers  on that end?

What you answer to the “where do you see yourself question” is all of a function of what you want today.

Let’s suppose that you applied for UPS hoping that you’d one day be able to drive a truck delivering packages. Here’s an example of what you could say:

“In 5 years, I see myself employed by UPS, working as a full-time delivery driver. I can envision myself driving my truck daily, throughout my assigned area of the city, enjoying my route and getting to know the customers who live on it, as I deliver their packages. I can see my customers knowing my name, and getting a sense of fulfillment everyday from knowing that I played some small role in making their day.”

While this is a bit fluffy, the example shows forward thinking, it tells what your ultimate desire is for your employment at UPS, over the given time frame, and how you feel about that.

Best wishes.

Leave a Reply

