Q&A: Should I Quit My Job or Stay and Wait?

12431826_958511214241757_236207722_n

Q&A: Should I Quit My Job or Stay and Wait?

Q: I love my job, but it’s only part time. I’ve waited all year to get moved up to full time status and it’s not happening quick enough. They have great benefits, hourly pay, etc. but the full time hasn’t opened yet. I’ve gone to over 15 job interview and none of them hired me except the job that I have now. So I know interviewing won’t be fun, any ideas?
-Anonymous

A: Let’s recap:
• You love your job.
That’s a good thing. There aren’t many people who are able to say that. Kudos to you.
• It’s only part time.
OK. What have you been doing for the past year when you weren’t on the schedule there? Are you taking advantage of this time to work on you? Are you in classes? Are you working another part-time job?
• It’s not happening quick enough.
Is this common for this job? How long does it usually take to go from part-time to full time there? Are you on the slower end or has your “progression” been about the same as others’?
• I’ve gone to over 15 job interview and none of them hire me.
Why is this? Have you sought the assistance of a career coach or other career services professional to get to the bottom of this? How are your interviewing skills? Have you practiced with someone you trust to obtain beneficial feedback?

Our advice: Stay at your job. Make sure that your appearance, work ethic, level of productivity, and overall attitude at work are up to par so that your boss will see you as full-time potential. Express to your boss that you love your job and are interested in becoming full-time as soon as the opportunity arises. Ask when full-time positions will become available and if you could have some notice so that you may apply. Continue to seek other employment that may be close or identical to what you are doing now. You may also consider professional development courses, webinars, etc. Work on your interviewing skills with a coach or a friend and accept feedback from them. Be willing to work on your interviewing skills to better your chances for hire.

Best Wishes to you.

Leave a Reply

