Q&A: Should I Contact the Manager?

Image result for Nervous lady

Q: I just got a job at Panera Bread. I completed the orientation on October 4. It was a Tuesday. I was scheduled to start training on Thursday. On Wednesday I received a call that my Grandfather had passed away. I called her on Thursday to explain to her that I was not going to attend because of my Grandfather. She never responded. She never called be back. So should I contact her directly? Am I still hired? And will they pay me for orientation?
-Valeria

A: First let me say that I am sorry to hear of your grandfather’s passing, Valeria. You have my sympathy.

In regards to your new position, it is important that you affirm your interest in continuing employment with your Store Manager. If you haven’t heard from anyone, it could be that they are giving you space and are expecting to hear from you. I highly recommend that you make this contact in person. While you are there, you can check to make sure your name is on the schedule and find out when you are expected to report to work. You may have hours on the schedule and not even know it.

If you signed in for orientation and continue working, it is likely that you will be paid for it. The best way to know is to talk to your manager.

Best Wishes.

Leave a Reply

