Q&A:  I Have Bad Employment History. What Do I Do Next?

undecided

Q:  My work history isnt terrible but its pretty bad as of late. I worked at UPS for 5 months and left in great standing, gave 1 month notice to my departure, the job just wasn’t for me. No issues there beside the fact I was only there for a short time. Then I started working at target… and was terminated about a month in for using an earbud during work hours. Not proud of it at all. I didn’t expect them to just flat out fire me but I understand why they did. I was warned once and when caught a second time, I was let go a week later. That being said I worked my *** off was recognized many times for my work, which is why I was super surprised when they fired me for wearing an earbud twice. (I do know it was a really stupid decision and I’ve learned my lesson) Then I got a job at a pizza place and absolutely hated it and left like a scumbag a week in and gave no notice to my former boss (he was a jerk and I just wanted out), just called him up about 6 hours before my shift and let him know that the job wast for me and that I’d be resigning. I feel like my employment history sucks and any employer who looks at it will likely not hire me. I was good at all 3 jobs and was never a troubled employee, besides the earbud deal but even during my time at target I worked very hard and was recognized for my work many times which is why i was surprised when they fired me. Any advice moving forward would be nice.
-Anonymous

 

A:  No one has a perfect employment history.  We all make mistakes.  Learning from them is the best thing we can do, besides remedying them, when we can.  Because you have indicated that you have learned your lesson, it’s time to move forward, making sure that any future employers understand that you have as well.  You may do so with confidence.

So, on the next application that you complete, I recommend omitting the pizza place.  Since you were not there any real length of time, the “experience” is immaterial.  While I do not know how long you worked at Target, I see that you were recognized for your work there, so you may want to list that position, as well as the one at UPS.  Be sure to get the name and telephone number of someone at both places that can attest to the positive parts of your time there.  You may even check with the manager at Target to determine whether or not you are eligible for rehire, so that you will know what will be said if that question is asked of your references.

When you are asked for the reason for your departure at both jobs on the application, be honest.  State that you resigned from UPS to find other work.  This is the truth and no one can fault you for that.  When you speak of your reason for leaving Target, use the verbiage “misunderstanding about company earbud policy.”   (You did, after all, believe that you would get either a second verbal warning or a write up before being terminated).   If there is a check mark for terminated, check it, otherwise, simply state the reason.

During an interview, simply state that you discovered that the UPS job wasn’t something you could do long term and that you wanted to find something more interesting/meaningful/challenging (choose something that fits).  When you talk about your experience at Target, accentuate the positive experience you had there.  Talk very specifically about how you were recognized for your work there.  When it comes to the termination, admit that you have learned from your mistakes and have matured in that area since.  Promise to demonstrate that once hired.

Best wishes.

Leave a Reply

