Q&A: I Am 26 and I Have No Idea What to do For a Career. All I Keep Taking is Basic Retail Jobs?

No Job at 26

Q:I am 26 and I have no idea what to do for a career. All I keep taking is basic retail jobs?
I went to college and earned a BA, but it seems the only places that are hiring is for healthcare or positions with many years of experience. I was an education major in college until my senior year, where I decided I had no interest in teaching anymore.?  I was initially Social Studies Education, but I switched to History BA. Ever since I graduated with a History BA, I feel lost in the job market. I don’t know what to apply for, and most jobs I feel not qualified for. I look for basic entry level jobs such as Administrative Assistants, Data Entry, etc. Even those are hard to get. I know some people say go back to college, but I don’t know what I would get a masters degree in that is useful. Is anyone else in this situation? What should I do?

I feel like giving up and try to be self employed. The U.S. Economy sucks.
-Kevin

A: I’m sorry to hear that you are having such difficulty finding the work you love, Kevin. Have you tried visiting the career development office at the college that you graduated from? There are people there who are trained to help you identify the path you should take to your dream career, be it in radiology, computers, web design, real estate, or some other field.

In addition, I would recommend using the keywords “entry level” or even “recent college graduate” when you do your job searches on websites like Career Builder and Indeed.  Many employers write their job postings to include these key words when they are hoping to recruit new entrants to the job market.  The Commonwealth of Pennsylvania’s Workforce Development System has a site called Job Gateway. Have you visited their site yet or one of their service locations? From the site, you can do a search for entry-level positions in your city or zip code. You can also check with their service offices for the latest on career fairs in your area.

I know that you’ve been trying for a while and job search can be frustrating, but I’d like to encourage you to seek a little direction for your search. Getting clear objectives for your career will help narrow down the infinite number of areas there are to go in and then you will be able to search for things that really do interest you.

Don’t give up. There’s a great job waiting for you!

Leave a Reply

