Q&A: My Personality Test was ENFJ and I Want to be a Lawyer

Image

Q:  I wanted to be a lawyer. With my personality would I still become a successful lawyer?
-?

A:  Although typically, ENFJs enjoy careers in the areas of counselling, teaching, human resources, sales, nursing, politics, administration, and management, your personality does not limit your ability to be successful in any career you choose.  It does, however, create a need for strategy to both avoid and mitigate any circumstances that may be less than desirable in your career-life balance.

ENFJs are natural coaches, givers, and mentors.  They are the ones that people generally turn to for help.  Insightful and empathetic, ENFJs really do care about people and want the best for them.  They are natural pleasers and are generally self-sacrificing. Interestingly enough, ENFJs have qualities that are very important in an attorney.  For example, they are articulate and confidant, structured and organized, persuasive and tenacious .  They are people-centered and action-oriented.  Because they are natural pleasers who want very much to see everyone happy, they will work tirelessly for that outcome.

It is important to note, however, that in addition to your personality type, success in a legal career will hinge on your abilities (are you an analytical thinker?  are you persuasive?  are you skilled at time management?), your dedication to your goal of becoming an attorney, your interests (the law, paperwork, public speaking, our justice system, etc.), and more.

Your personality is very important to be aware of while career planning.  Be sure to consider who you are when you decide on the type of law you practice (contract law vs. criminal law, for example), and the type of firm in which you choose to work.

S/N:  It is believed that our nation’s President is classifies as ENFJ.

Best wishes!

2 thoughts on “Q&A: My Personality Test was ENFJ and I Want to be a Lawyer

  1. Well, I am an ENFJ and I am a lawyer. I am doing well for my self, but more importantly, I love what I do on an everyday basis since I have a passion for law. In the end that’s what matters. Please do not worry about your MBTI profile ,,, it is not the only factor that determines success in a career. In the end the only thing that matters is where your passion lies…. Like Steve Jobs said, the only way to do a great job is to love what you do… I am sure you will be a great lawyer one day….

Leave a Reply

